One Goal to Rule Them All

Hey friends!

I promised I’d be back this weekend. I’m glad you guys enjoyed my last post, and I hope it got you thinking!

Anyways, I’m here to share with you one goal. One big goal. One REALLY big goal. Actually, like a megagoal.

Or.. An ultra goal?

Yupp, you got me.

I want to run an ultramarathon.

Preferably within a year and a half.

See? Not that hard.

Let’s be honest. I haven’t been running very long. But I love it. I love it so much.

Since I started running, I was always intrigued by tests of endurance. Obviously, because my second real race is going to be a 10 miler. I run 40+ mpw for fun. I’d run more if I had time.

I think I have some pretty kickass endurance. And I’m never going to be a super fast runner. I don’t really enjoy running super fast, to be honest. It stresses me out.

So.. An ultra. Why an ultra? Because I know that I can do things that people think are impossible. And I can do what I put my mind to.

Also, I’m just really attracted to ultras. It gets me excited. I smile when I think about them. And I am so inspired by ultrarunners. I want to be like them. I want to feel what they feel. I want to follow in their footsteps. I literally dream about running – and I want to do this.

So, you might be thinking why not a marathon to start? I’m not saying I won’t run a marathon ever, trust me. I might run one this summer! Who knows. But my ultimate goal is an ultra. I think it is the ultimate test of myself as a runner and a person.

I know I can finish a marathon. I know I can finish an ultra too. But, in a marathon, I know I wouldn’t quit. In an ultra, I’m gonna have to push myself to the limit and I’ll want to drop out. I have a long history of quitting things I love because I’m scared to push myself, and I want to prove to myself that I can push myself that far. Then, I’ll know for sure that I can do anything.

What do you guys think?

I’m excited. I haven’t figured out what, when, where, but I do know the why. Because I can do it. I can do whatever I want to do in my life. Nothing is too ridiculous. I hope you can decide the same for yourself too.

How was your weekend?

Chelsea

PS, there might be some blog changes soon. I haven’t decided concretely, so I’ll keep you guys posted.

20 thoughts on “One Goal to Rule Them All

  1. “why an ultramarathon?”….why the heck NOT?? 😀 This post makes me wanna fistpump and cheer for you, seriously – an ultramarathon would be awesome, and it really does seem like your kinda thing. I think the only time you should ever stop pursuing a goal is if it stops being fun, becomes a chore, you know? I can really tell from your posts how passionate you are about running, at the most basic level because its something that never fails to make you happy. And that alone is reason enough to see how far you can go with it. 🙂 ROCK ON!

  2. i want to do an ultra one day too!! i tell this to my mom and she is like, “they are really long and hard. i think you should stick to marathons.” BUT I WANT TO DO AN ULTRA! i think they are so awesome. and you are awesome. therefore, you can be awesome together and totally ROCK an ultra 🙂

  3. Yes! You CAN do anything. I think an ultramarathon is worth a shot, at least one go. You know thousands of people finish marathons each year, but ultramarathons? That takes a certain passion and determination that I think you have. You rock!

Leave a Reply

