Monday Runday: Sprint Edition

Hey friends!

I have been sprinting through my day (seriously, does sprinting to archaeology this morning count in my mileage?), and almost forgot about Monday Runday.

But I didn’t! Obvi lolz. Anyways, super quickly..

Miles: Just under 45, mostly long slow efforts

Usually I do around five less, but I was feeling good with the long slow runs, so it just added up. Also, my “long slow runs” are now at my old “pushing myself pretty hard” pace. Improvements yay!

I run like this, probably.

Longest run of the week: 9 miles on Sunday

This run was brutal at times, but good. I ran it outside, despite the lake effect snow the day before. The roads were snowy at some points, and this is honestly my first time ever running on snow! I liked it, but it slowed me down a lot. It took a lot more physical strength to run than normal, which was interesting. I think this is how it’ll be on trails for me – so it was good practice for my race! I think I could’ve pushed myself harder, but I really didn’t want to fall. When I left for this run, it was 14 degrees F outside.. When I came back it was 17. This is the coldest I’ve ever run in, and I’m proud I forced myself out!

This is how I look when I run in the snow.

Double day: 13 miles on Thursday

I ran 6 miles in the morning on the treadmill before class, then went out for a previously undetermined length of run after class. It ended up being seven, which was great! I PR’d my road mile time without even trying hard (seriously, I thought I was going pretty slow at the time), so I think I can smash that some time soon. Running 7 miles now feels pretty easy to me, which amazes me.

This is how I hope I look when I run one day.

Race day is coming up.

In about 13 days, I will be competing in a 10 mile trail race. I feel like I’m going to finish it strong. I feel like I’m in a super good place right now in my running, much better than I thought I would be when I signed up. I’m not nervous at this point – just super excited.

How’s your training going? How was your Monday? What’s the coldest you’ll go outside in? Do you ever look back on old you and are amazed how far you’ve come?

I’m always in awe at my transformation, honestly. Sometimes, running doesn’t feel like real life, and I get kinda scared that it’s all a dream. I really love to run, and I’m so glad I found it. The more I do it, the more I want it to be my life.. And I can’t imagine my life without it.

Have a great week everyone!

Chelsea

16 thoughts on “Monday Runday: Sprint Edition

  1. Awesome job with your runs!! I don’t feel like I’m very far in my training right now… but when I’m at the point when I’m running 7 – 8 miles a day and doing races and workouts, I feel awesome! Well, really I feel tired. But accomplished for sure!

  2. YEAHHHHHH I love reading about how you’re improving – and you totally are! It really does sometimes happen without you realizing it or without consciously “trying” ya know? You’re gonna ROCK that trail race. And yeah, running in snow is really physically difficult. It takes WAY more energy to go the same pace!! Man, I miss running so much haha. I’m doing a little, but things are still very very precarious…I can’t wait to get back to that place where I can train hard and not be constantly worried about what part of me is going to break next hahaha.

Leave a Reply

