WIAW 9.. With lotsa veggies!

Hey friends!

Because of Jenn’s focus on loving your fruits and veggies this month, I took pictures of more food I’ve been noshing on recently..

Mostly, the veggies, which I realized I’m not getting enough of. Even though I’m a gluten free, lactose intolerant, gluten intolerant vegetarian. Something seems off, right?

Instead of eating veggies, I’ve been doing the normal college thing of eating lots of processed junk..

20120214-204616.jpg

A delicious, but not very nutritious assortment of GF/LF offerings. Those GF brownies are to die for, but the ingredient list is gross!

Aka mass amounts of gf cereal and bread substitutes. Sooo, I’ve been trying to eat a little bit cleaner. It’s made me feel a lot better!

I kinda forgot it was WIAW at some points, but here’s what I’ve been eating lately, with a focus on mah fruits and veggies!

rando eats from last week:

20120214-204643.jpg

Butterscotch oatmeal with sliced almonds that my mom sent me for Valentine's Day!

20120214-204622.jpg

Broccoli bed with sauteed onions and egg whites on top. Topped with Tamari!

20120214-204637.jpg

Giant salad with broccoli, sweet potatoes, cottage cheese, beets, and sauteed green beans and carrots.

lunch today:

20120214-204647.jpg

Canteloupe bowl, broccoli and cauliflower (with ketchup!) bowl, open faced tuna sammich and hardboiled eggs. I downed this in 10 min because I had a meeting. Unfortunate.

dinner today:

20120214-204654.jpg

Sneaky photography skills.. Salad with broc, sauteed zukes, sweet potatoes, and beets. Mustardy dressing.

snacks from today:

20120214-204700.jpg

Soy nut and granola trail mix.

20120214-204556.jpg

Cocoa truffle. Best way to end the night!

Thanks to Jenn for hosting, of course! Also, thanks for reminding me to eat my fruits and veggies. 🙂

How do you get your fruits and veggies in? Do you notice a difference with how you feel when you eat less processed stuff? What’s the best thing you ate recently?

Love your fruits and veggies, love yourself, and happy Valentine’s Day!

Chelsea

14 thoughts on “WIAW 9.. With lotsa veggies!

  1. Awesome veggie-tastic eats girlfran! Your broccoli topped with onions and egg whites looks to die for, my mouth would’ve had a party with those flavors!
    I try to sneak in fruits and veggies in smoothies galore, especially spinach, berries, and sweet taters NOM
    Have a great night! 🙂

  2. It’s okay to indulge every once in a while! Loving all the vegetables. I know how much it sucks having to wolf down your meal… Yes, I definitely notice a difference. I feel way more energetic when eating whole foods, plus my skin and hair are way better.

  3. your eats look SO good!!! I’m glad you’re feeling better with focusing on fruits and veggies. I’m normally really good about that, and I tend to focus my eats based on what my training is. When I train hard, I definitely err on the side of carbs, and I generally don’t feel too bloated or whatever cuz, well, I’m training hard haha. But times like right now, when I’m not training hard, and/or when I’m trying to lean out a little bit, I amp up the produce…it really helps me feel less bloated and “cleaner”, if that’s a feeling hahaha.

  4. I always feel so mch better when I get in my fruits and veggies – and I almost always do. But I eat a lot, so I also consume a lot of not so clean things and it definitely weighs me down. I’ve been eating less processed stuff lately and I’m noticing a big difference!

  5. Yummy eats girlie!!
    I agree with you that you feel so much better when you get in your veggies!! as I ramp up my training my body craves healthier eats…I have to focus on getting enough protein and grains to go along with my veggies, I could eat broccoli and spinach all day! 🙂
    I hope you have a great weekend ahead of you!
    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

