A Conversation Starter

Hey friends!

It’s Saturday, and I went to the gym this morning. And as always, I got questions about my Vibrams. I welcomed them, and they inspired me to do this post.

My Vibrams with my cat. Ahhh, I miss my cat!

When people see your feet decked out in bright pink and orange toe shoes, they seem to stare at you more when you’re busting out five miles on the treadmill.

Welcome to my life.

I am a minimalist runner, and my actions when I’m rockin’ my Vibram Bikilas seem to be scrutinized more than when I wear more traditional-looking Saucony Kinvara’s for cross training.

I think that minimalist running is AWESOME. While some people think it’s weird, I’ve found that the stares I get are more curious, rather than critical.

In fact, my Vibrams have proven to be great conversation starters. Every time I wear them at a “normal” time at the gym (aka not 6:00 with all the regulars who see me in them every day), I get at least one question about them, and subsequently make a new gym friend.

Honestly, I love these questions. I always say just about the same thing: they’re awesome, I love them, and I would probably not be running today without them. I can rant and rave for a good twenty minutes about them, and have before.

People seem surprised when I tell them ya, they really are as good as people say they are. And ya, I really think you should try them. I’m always careful to emphasize that they are a GRADUAL change, and you shouldn’t just switch all your running to them.

I am a minimalist runner, and the things I wear on my feet are great conversation starters.

This is part one of a series that I have wanted to do on my minimalist running! Kate and some others have asked about it a few times, so I’m going to post how I got into it, why I love it, and things like that in a little series. I have no idea the time frame or how many posts I’m going to do, I’m just gonna wing it. This’ll be fun, because I love talking about minimalism! 🙂

PS, this morning I had to take a picture of my breakfast. It WASN’T OATMEAL. Le gasp.

20120211-120457.jpg

Banana, eggs with veggie cheese, grapefruit, canteloupe, and coffee. SO satisfying.

What do you think about minimalism? Have you tried it? Do you have any questions about it?

I hope you all have a great weekend!!

Chelsea

7 thoughts on “A Conversation Starter

  1. yayyyy i’m so glad you’re doing this series!! 😀 obviously I can’t wait to hear about your 5-finger experience. i obviously have not tried them – coming back from injury is NOT the time haha. however I do pride myself on having great form and foot-strike, so I much prefer to wear light shoes – I just bought a new pair of Mizuno Wave Enigma’s, which are perfect for my feet – very light, but still have a little support!

  2. I’ve never tried minimalist shoes but it’s not because I’m against it. I personally think it’s great except the fact that not enough people are informed about making the transition from a regular shoe to a minimalist shoe such as Vibrams. During the summer I often do barefoot runs on the soft sand of the gulf beaches (when I say soft I mean SOFT… stay as far away from water as possible). It has been seriously great for my foot strength. I did make the mistake of doing too many of these runs back to back though my first summer down here and my Achille’s paid for it. I honestly believe this is the reason I have not had foot injuries while upping my mileage for xc. I think the minimalist approach is great, just takes seriously smart transitioning and being informed. Great post girl!

  3. Minimalist running! 😀 I can’t find a pair of Vibrams for my size, but then again I /was/ only sourcing for KSOs. The Bikilas seem pretty good too though. I run in VIVOBAREFOOT Evos and they’re absolutely lovely; barefoot’s still the best though. I can’t wait for more posts on minimalist running.

Leave a Reply

