Oatmeal for the Soul

Hi friends!

Sorry I haven’t been around as much as usual.

..I’ve been in an epic battle.

With my computer, that is.

For some reason, it’s decided to misbehave like NONE OTHER and I’ve been on the losing side of the argument.

I’m trying to get it back up and running as normal ASAP!!

I have two surprises before I go though..

OATMEAL RECIPES!

Sugar Cookie Oatmeal

20120108-182925.jpg

Yummy yumyumyumyum.

1 serving oatmeal (1/2-2/3 cup dry)

1 cup almond milk

1 cup water

1/2 cup vanilla greek yogurt

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tsp vanilla

Sweetener of choice

Make your oatmeal with the almond milk and water mixed together. Near the end of the cooking process, add in 1 tsp of vanilla and about 3/4 serving of sweetener (I use about 5 drops of stevia). Turn off the heat and add the greek yogurt and chia seeds. Mix it all together!

Transfer it to a bowl and let it thicken for about 5 min.

Top with half a tablespoon of honey or maple syrup and enjoy! If you don’t want to use the honey/maple syrup, just add more sweetener to your liking. 🙂

20120108-182931.jpg

Topped with maple syrup!

Crazy Mocha Oatmeal

20120108-182912.jpg

That ghiradelli square really made this oatmeal..

1.5 cups coffee

2/3 cup oatmeal

2 tbsp cocoa

1/2 cup vanilla greek yogurt or almond milk

Sweetener of choice

Cook the oatmeal in the coffee as you normally would. Then, add in the cocoa near the end of the cooking process. Mix in the almond milk or greek yogurt at the end along with your sweetener and ENJOY!

20120108-182918.jpg

When you put ghiradelli on hot oatmeal, it turns into an awesome chocolate puddle. NOM.

See you soon guys! I’m trying to keep up with your blogs, but I might not be commenting as soon as I usually would because of my stupid computer. ROOD.

How has your weekend been? What’s your favourite breakfast food?

I hope your weekends have been wonderful! Mine has, despite this computer issue. It’s involved HORSEBACK RIDING, which is awesome. And JUMPING, which is more awesome. More on this latah.

Chelsea

9 thoughts on “Oatmeal for the Soul

  1. YOU ARE A CULINARY GENIUS. Thanks for the sugar cookie recipe!! I really wanted that one when I saw it the first time you made it haha. And putting a chocolate square on your oats to melt? wow. brilliant. of course I love coffee too so thats a double WIN for me!! I think I’m going to try that tomorrow morning!! 😀

  2. ahhh I am so sorry about you and your computer not getting along! I hope you two solve your differences asap! 😉
    I am an oatmeal loverrrr….I like any combo, as long as it’s hot! even in the summer, I will sometimes sweat with hot coffee and hot oats…sorry that is not a yummy thought!
    thanks for all your great comments!
    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

