FOOD AWARDS!

Hello friends!

Welcome to.. The first (not)annual FOOD AWARDS!

The super-awesome Alexandra nominated me to do Food Awards. She’s so awesome! πŸ™‚

(For some reason, WordPress is being VERY weird about this post, so sorry for the lack of breaks.. I’ll try to fix it later but I’m busy right now!)

Here’s what’s happening:

β€œThe blogger that is tagged must host an award thing-ama-gig about FOOD. Yes, food (it’s the food awards). Anything related to it. A food blogger, a company, a favorite meal, or even whatever you like to sprinkle on your popcorn. After you are finished you tag 3 other bloggers to host a Food Award ceremony (aka a post). But remember, you may only focus on the positive aspects of what you are awarding. No negativity is tolerated, especially if it will hurt someone’s feelings. Also, you are ALL winners in my book, even if you are not mentioned xoxo Lizzie”

Obvi, this awards show biz-ness is from Lactose Free Lizzie.
Anyways, onto the AWARDS!
Most Versatile Food
The nominees:
1. Tofu
2. Greek yogurt
3. Oatmeal
4. Spinach
The winner:
Greek yogurt!

Chobani Vanilla was my post-run snack today. πŸ™‚

This was a tough one, cause we had some POWERHOUSES in the food world. But, I just can’t get over how Greek yogurt can be FEATURED in many different types of food, not just hidden (like tofu and spinach in smoothies). It’s an easy condiment, main dish, dessert.. I’ve put it in EVERYTHING.
Best Nut
The nominees:
1. Brazil nuts
2. Walnuts
3. Almonds
4. Cashews
The winner:
Walnuts!

I like walnuts in baked goods the best!

All nuts are good for you (in moderation, unfortunately..), but walnuts are the only nut that have alpha-linolenic acid, which is an omega-3 fatty acid. Those are good for us! Also, for athletes, walnuts have anti-inflammatory compounds. My favourite nut, cashews, are a close second.
Most Delicious Gluten Free Carb
The nominees:
1. Sweet potatoes
2. Rice
3. Oats
4. Winter squash
The winner:
It’s a tie! Sweet potatoes AND oats!
Okay, so I’m obsessed with oats (I’ve seriously had two bowls today), but sweet potatoes are delicious carbs too. Most awesome thing? Combining the two. (Like in this recipe!)
Best Snack Food
The nominees:
1. Chocolate
2. Nuts
3. LaraBars
4. Bananas and nut butter
The winner:
Chocolate.
20120105-185335.jpg
So.. This isn’t really a competition. NOTHING beats chocolate.
Best Non-Peanut Nut Butter
The nominees:
1. IM Healthy Crunchy Soynut Butter
2. Maranatha Smooth Almond Butter
3. Once Again Cashew Butter
The winner:
Once Again Cashew Butter!

I love this stuff waaaay too much.

It’s ADDICTING. But it’s kinda hard to spread because it separates like crazy. So, I eat it out of the jar! IM Healthy Soynut butter is a delicious spreadable peanut alternative, though.
Okay, those are all the categories I can think of!
I nominate:
1. Chelsea @ One Healthy Munchkin
2. Kelly @ Foodie Fiasco
3. Kristi @ Sweetly Fit
Have fun ladies! πŸ™‚
Also, I PROMISED (myself) I would post a recipe.. So, here is my favourite quick dessert recipe! Sorry it’s a bit rough, but I’m not a measurer.. Experiment as you like!
High Protein Pudding

Pudding with a cupcake.. Tbh, I didn't exactly know what to call it (pudding ice cream?!)!

**this makes a LARGE serving.. so halve it if you want, I often do!**
1 cup greek yogurt
1/2 cup almond milk or water
2 tbsp instant pudding mix
Suggested toppings: sprinkles, nut butter, chocolate chips, nuts, cereal
Whip together the liquid and greek yogurt until you’ve incorporated some air. Then, whip in the pudding mix.
Cool in the fridge for about 20 minutes.
Top and enjoy!
This is like.. Delicious. You MIGHT have to experiment a bit with proportions based on the flavour of the pudding mix. I made this with chocolate, and I added a little bit (1-2 tbsp?) more water than stated after-the-fact. It’s all a game! If you use normal yogurt for this, I would halve the liquid used, or see how it works without it at all. I add liquid to this because the greek yogurt is so thick.. Plus almond milk tastes good (I use water if I’m out of almond milk), and more volume = more deliciousness!
For chocolate pudding, I add 1tbsp of cocoa powder to up the chocolate factor. And for vanilla, I add a little bit of vanilla extract. The butterscotch version of this is REALLY good.
..And I’m off to enjoy some chocolate “pudding” while watching Mr. Popper’s Penguins with my mom!
See ya guys soon!
Chelsea
10 thoughts on “FOOD AWARDS!

  1. Yay!! Dude walnuts are the bomb, and heck yes to sweet potatoes and oats!! Our tastebuds would clearly be best friends πŸ˜‰
    And that pudding sounds fabulous! “This is like.. Delicious.” <– perfect description ever haha πŸ˜€

  2. Can you believe I’ve never had cashew butter?! I mean I love nut butters, and I love cashews, but I’ve never had cashew butter. I’ll definitely be putting that on my list of things I need to try soon!

  3. I think I would have picked every single one of your choices as mine for the categories πŸ™‚ I might have to get some pudding mix for that recipe.

  4. sweet taters + oats haha that does not suprise me in the slightest πŸ˜‰ I agree with you on the greek yogurt, especially the plain kind – you can make it into a savory dip or dressing, put it in soup, bake with it, and turn it into any flavor you want! speaking of, LOVE the greek yogurt pudding idea!! I’ve done that with pistachio pudding mix before, makes me wish we bought boxed mix more often! πŸ™‚

  5. I’m all about the greek yogurt too πŸ™‚ though I would have chosen winter squash for best gluten free carb – but that shouldn’t come as a surprise!

Leave a Reply

