Five Friday Faves! (LAST of 2011!)

Hey guys!

It’s FRIIIIIDAY. Wahoo! Not like it matters for me, because I’m on break.. But whatever. The knowledge that it is in fact almost officially the weekend still gives me a little jumpstart to happiness for the day.

What does Friday mean? Friday means it’s time to talk about my FAAAAAAVES. Five of them, to be precise. Some days, coming up with five is an ambitious goal.. Some days, it’s wayyyy too little. It’s one of those days.

Probably because I’ve skipped Friday Faves twice in a row. Oh well. ONTO THEM!

1. Proper recovery.

Okay, so as a runner with a busy schedule at school, I often ignore recovery after runs as a priority. BAD. But, at home? I’m totally into recovery. The second I get home from a run, there is stretching, then slipping on my brand new compression sleeves.. And uggs.

Keepin’ it classy, you know.

Then? A giant bowl of oatmeal is made.

Yesterday’s oatmeal.. Vanilla with chocolate sauce? Nom.
Another recent oatmeal.. Gingerbread!

Afterwards, it’s chillaxin’ on the couch all day.. I’m really lazy when I’m not running.

2. Felix.

Obsessed. I know it’s weird.

He’s my new boyfriend. A Garmin Forerunner 450CX. I have a serious problem.

3. Cupcakes.

Gluten free chocolate cherry cupcakes.

So.. Yesterday, I wanted cupcakes. So.. Yesterday, I made cupcakes. So.. Yesterday, I ate cupcakes. Recipe soon!

Cupcake on greek yogurt. Latenight snack perfection!

4. Celestial Seasonings holiday tea.

I love the boxes. They’re so festive! πŸ™‚

Now that it’s after Christmas, all of the delicious holiday tea is on sale. My favourite is Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride or Nutcracker Sweet. My mom got two boxes for 3 bucks the other day! What a steal.

5. Pea snacks.

My new love.

Okay, so I’m obsessed with wisabi peas. But, my mom’s friend introduced me to these Japanese pea snacks.. They’re delicious. I want them. I crave them. I need them. They’re crunchy, salty, and slightly peppery.. TO DIE FOR.

Now, I’m contemplating mixing them and wasabi peas for ultimate perfection.

What are you loving this week? What’s your favourite way to recover after a workout?

Tomorrow, I’ll be going a bit serious on y’all. You’ve been warned.

Happy Friday!

Chelsea

12 thoughts on “Five Friday Faves! (LAST of 2011!)

  1. You always make the tastiest looking oats! I’m coming over for breakfast tomorrow haha πŸ˜‰
    Dude, I feel the same way about those teas, the sugar cookie is the bombbbbbb
    Can’t wait for the cupcake recipe! And hope you have an awesome New Years!

  2. I’ve written entire posts on recovery!! That’s one of my favorite topics. One of my favorite books is the athlete’s guide to recovery – it’s so helpful! Yet I still don’t have compression socks. I need to get on that!
    We have the same favorite holiday teas!! I lean more towards nutcracker sweet since it has a little caffeine. Actually combining the two is really good!!

  3. Next time you want a book about running to read, check out The Athletes Guide to Recovery by Sage ROuntree – seriously that book is like the bible lol!! But YES to compression socks and refueling and planting your bunz on the couch haha. ANd your oatmeals…well, I would expect nothing less from you haha, but they look DELICIOUS. I think I’m kind of in the mood for oatmeal this morning….we’ll see haha. AND GARMIN LOVE! it’s ok to be obsessed, My obsession is quickly growing….I need a name for him/her still though!

  4. Aw you are too cute with your compression sleeves and uggs. You look so comfy! Break is the best. I love being able to come home for a run and not have to run to the shower and get quickly dressed for class. I don’t want it to end!

Leave a Reply

