I Can Do This

Hey friends.

I CAN DO THIS.

Remember how I told you I was getting back to normal?

Nah. Nope. Wrongo. Well, at least that’s what I thought this morning. Why? My mom decided it was time to put my dog down.

I love you, Wire. RIP. ❤

She was a 16 year old german shepherd with a neurological problem which made her unable to control her legs, so her legs would get twisted when she walked. Most people wouldn’t have taken care of her for as long as we did, because she had to be carried everywhere. Her back legs were useless from complete muscular degeneration. I knew it was coming. But, it still sucked a lot.

Same face, 14 years earlier.

This afternoon, I went on a four mile run, cried a lot, put on my brave face, and took the dog that I’ve had since I was four to the vet to be put down. She was definitely ready to go, but I’m still upset. She’s literally been there for all of my memorable life. It was a bad way to end a bad week, but now.. All the bad is gone. I’m at rock bottom, and I pretty much can only go up.

We had our bad times.. When I wanted to do this to you for realz for eating my stuff.

20111216-233216.jpg

But you were always there for me at the end of the day. ❤

Rando fact: Wire outlived ALL of her 18 puppies. Also, I have no idea how I named her. I was a weird kid. (See above picture for more proof)

HAPPIER THINGS TIME.

In other news, I totally thought I’d post yesterday. Did I? Nawp. Why? Well.. I accidentally ran 8 miles (wahoo!!) and ended up being waaay too exhausted at night and falling asleep. Whooops.

How exactly did I “accidentally run 8 miles”? Well, I went out for a nice 6 mile run. I felt AWESOME. I was a bit unsure of the route I was taking/where to stop on the road, but I knew the first two miles really well. When I was done with those first, I had a great pace. Somehow, the middle two miles felt.. FOREEEEEVER. And once I got to my last two miles, I realized they took FOREEEEEVER. Like, waaaaay too much timee. Double, in fact, as I might expect. Wtf? How could I possibly be running THAT slowly? On the last two miles, I straight up sprinted to try and make up the time. But, when I went to map it, extremely disappointed about my performance.. I realized that I’d definitely missed something and had just run 8 miles. I literally LOL’d. Just leave it up to me to accidentally run 8 miles. Luckily, I survived, and unconsciously ran the longest distance I have in one go!

I refueled with this:

Lotsa egg white oats, almond milk, some greek yogurt, cocoa powder, cashew and almond butters.. Honey on top?

Today, I took it easy at the gym, doing some nice ellipticalling. After my run yesterday, my legs were killing me (I need to learn to stretch more after I eat, but I usually forget), but they weren’t that bad this morning. The elliptical helped stretch them out and they feel good now. 🙂

I made pumpkin oats with syrup on top.. Fun fact: I’m Buddy the Elf right now. SYRUP ON EVERYTHING.

Looks kinda gross.. But delish. Mostly greek yogurt with oats in it + pumpkin. I was in a yogurty mood.

Tonight, in a therapeutic sense, I made some peppermint patties (recipe soon) and watched Rio. Which is a hilarious and adorable movie. Fun fact number 2: I love Pixar-ish movies (Pixar + whatever company made Rio/Ice Age). Finding Nemo is my favourite movie.

Anyways, I think I’m done with my rough patch for a while. Things should look up. Thanks again for all the comments and support, you guys are awesome! I’m just trying to keep on chugging, as I tell soooo many other people to do when they hit rough spots.

Did you ever name your pet something weird? How many pets do you have? Do you like Pixar?

Fun fact trois: I have had 6 dogs in my life (max 5 at one time) and 10 cats (6 at one time – right now). I’ve also had a multitude of small pets, poultry/waterfowl, and horses. I love animals.

Night guys!

Chelsea

10 thoughts on “I Can Do This

  1. *Virtual hug* I am so sorry about your dog. It is so difficult, I know. If you ever want to talk, I’m here, ‘kay?

    P.S. I know I’m new to your blog so that might’ve sounded creepy, but I really do LOVE your blog. 😉

  2. 😦 I’m so so so sorry my friend, it can be so hard saying goodbye to a beloved pet. I’m sure she’s bounding around and playing in heaven with copious amounts of dog treats 🙂
    Weird pet name-wise–I used to have a beagle named Pippi when I was little that I named after Pippi Longstocking haha

  3. I’m sorry about your puppy 😦 It’s so sad because we have to take them there and say goodbye… oh it tears me apart! On a happier note, FANTASTIC RUN!!! Don’t you just love it when that happens?! It leaves me on top of the world. Oh and syrup and cookies are definitely essential parts of my food pyramid right now.

  4. I am so sorry to hear about your puppy! 😦 Having to let go of someone (I consider animals people sometimes 😉 ) you’ve been with for a long time is so hard. I’m sorry! But on a bright side, good job on your run! I literally laughed out loud too when you said you were Buddy the Elf because you’re putting syrup on everything. Which reminds me that I need to watch Elf… 😀
    Have a great day!!

  5. Ohh man I’m so sorry about your dog!! I remember having to put my first dog down, he was 15 and had cancer….I cried like a baby. Wire sounds like she was a great dog! You’re handling things really well 🙂 and CONGRATS on the run!! that’s so epic!! I love accidently running more mileage haha, and I’m loving all this refueling-with-oatmeal that’s going on as well 😀

  6. I’m so sorry about your dog! He sounds like a great dog and i’m sure he’ll be missed. I had to put my cat down a year ago which was so hard, so i know how you’re feeling, but you’ll get through it!

Leave a Reply

