Gettin’ Back to Normal

Hey friends!

So, last I spoke to y’all, I told you my bad news. Since then, I’ve been working non stop. Remember the whole this is supposed to be finals week things? Uhhh.. Well, I’m still supposed to be at school. I was supposed to take my first final today. Instead, once the reality set in that I needed to get home ASAP, I studied all weekend, took my final on Monday (technically during reading period.. whoooops), and left school Tuesday morning. I took the train, and while on it I began and completed a 9 page paper. Today, I went to the funeral.

sad. face.

It was a great service. Really long. But, really good. My grandma was a truly wonderful woman and I know a lot of people, especially me, will miss her. Of course, I cried and was upset, but I just kept thinking about the light she put in so many people’s lives, and what a truly great woman she was. I am lucky to be her granddaughter, honestly, and I’m glad I got to know her for as long as I did (my grandfather, her husband, died when I was 3, so I never really knew him). It was nice to see family that I hadn’t in forever, despite the circumstances. I reconnected with some cousins who I hadn’t seen in FOREVER, and even got to talk to my great grandmother (her husband’s mother) for a while. Overall, there was sorrow, there was tears, but.. It was good. I’m glad my grandma will be remembered the way she was, and I feel that she lived a really meaningful life that influenced so many other people’s.

When I got home.. I felt kinda normal for the first time in about a week.

Okay, so I don't feel THAT normal.. #statnerdstatus

And I know that’s how my grandma would want it. Sure, I miss her, and I’m sad that she won’t be there for big moments in my life, but.. That’s life, unfortunately. I have to be okay, because she’d want it that way.

So, that’s where I am now. Gettin’ back to normal. I’ll be back running tomorrow (I decided that I am officially training for a half marathon, no excuses, because life is too short and my great grandma wants me to do it for her), and I’m gonna go riding soon. I have another paper to write tomorrow, so riding will wait until that’s done.

Oh yeah. I’m captain of my riding team now. I was voted in last weekend. I’m ecstatic, because I’ve been working for two and a half years for this.

Lol, I love this horse, despite his inability to stay still and look cute for a picture.

Tomorrow? I’ll hopefully feel a little bit better than I do now. I have a few things to look forward to.. Aka my birthday is in 6 days and Christmas is in 9 days. And, we’re spending Christmas in MN to visit my mom’s side of the family, staying with my other grandparents.

All in all, thank you guys for your support. You all are AWESOME. I’ll be back to my craz-mazing oatmeal recipes, rants//raves, and rando stuff soon.

See you soon!

Chelsea

12 thoughts on “Gettin’ Back to Normal

  1. you are definitely being SUPER brave and strong through all this!! I can only imagine how exhausting it is to cram a final exam in early, write a 9 page paper on a train…all while dealing with the emotions that come with a death of a loved one. I’m glad you’re pushing through it and getting back that sense of “normalcy” – I bet your grandma would be really proud of how you’re handling everything 🙂

  2. Sorry about your loss hun. You’re awesome for posting about this and I’m glad to hear you are coping. I’m sure she would be really proud of you, especially being made captain! That’s great, congrats!

  3. Its always do hard to get back to normal after losing a loved one, but you have to remember that they probably would have wanted you to move on and do great things like what you are gonna do. I’m sure your grandma would be so proud that you’re committing to half marathon training and that you’re captain of your riding team. Congrats!!

  4. I am so sorry for your loss,Chelsea… I cannot put into words how much I admire your strength right now.
    Congratulations on being team captain now,I bet you will be the best captain your riding mates could have wished for! 🙂
    Stay strong,I definitely believe your grandma is watching over you with pride.

Leave a Reply

