Hodgepodge o’ Life

Hello friends!

I had a mediocre Turkey Day. Unfortunately, my grandmother is in the hospital for an extended stay and yesterday, we visited her instead of having dinner with the family. She is in a hospital an hour away, so we drove over, saw some family, visited her for several hours, then drove home. Since we didn’t prepare adequately, my mom and I didn’t have Thanksgiving Dinner until like 8 o’clock. Sad. But, I am thankful that my grandmother is still alive (she has a slew of things wrong with her), that I got to see my family even briefly, cand that my mom and I could have food on the table.

My mom and I had a lot of fun making dinner and spending time together. We made marinated tofu, sweet potato walnut loaf, baked butternut squash and sweet potatoes, and wild rice casserole. Oh, and CAULIFLOWER. My favourite. It wasn’t a lot of dishes, but it was manageable for two people and all of the dishes ended up turning out really well! My favourite was the cauliflower honestly (NOTHING BEATS CAULIFLOWER), but I also really enjoyed the tofu dish and the loaf. All the food was really good though! I wasn’t a huge fan of the wild rice casserole though, mostly cause I dislike casseroles and the rice was crunchyish. Blech.

Today, I didn’t really do much.. I woke up, ran a quick 2 miles, and then went to the gym to elliptical and lift. I refueled with this delicious oatmeal:

Have you ever had dark chocolate pomegranate seeds? These oats are like them.. But better.

Dark chocolate with pomegranate arils. Nomnomnom. I don’t have a specific recipe, but a serving of oats cooked in almond milk with one and a half tbsp of cocoa powder, a serving of cottage cheese/greek yogurt/protein powder, and half of a pomegranate will give you this delish treat. I sweetened it with honey and stevia and put a little salt on it. It was honestly a gift from the Gods.

This afternoon, I got to go riding! Wahoo! I miss riding when I don’t get to do it for a while. I rode one of my favourite horses, Calvin, but didn’t have a real lesson. We just messed around for fourty minutes until he refused to move anymore. Whoops! Tomorrow, I’m going to join a lesson, so that should be fun.

We did a lot of this.. And he did not like it. BUT, I love this picture. πŸ™‚

When I got back, I had my dinner, and ate copious amounts of these:

Pillowly.. Gingerbready.. Too good to be true.

Ginger Molasses (basically gingerbread) Cookies

These are gluten free, and the recipe makes A LOT. A LOT.

2 1/2 cups gluten free baking mix

3/4 cup butter (Smart Balance works too)

1 cup packed dark brown sugar

1/3 cup molasses

1 egg

1-2 tbsp chopped fresh ginger

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ginger powder

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

Dough dough dough.. Delish. I ate a lot of this.

Mix it all together. Refrigerate dough, covered, for at least 4 hours, preferably overnight. Preheat oven to 375. Drop 1.5 tbsp dough balls onto greased cookie sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes until cookies look “done” (cracked on top, usually). Allow to cool before devouring. Enjoy!

Anyways, I’m tired because I’m sick, so I’m going to go. But,Β how was your Thanksgiving (if you had one)? How was your Friday? What’s your favourite type of cookie?

See you tomorrow friends!

Chelsea

4 thoughts on “Hodgepodge o’ Life

  1. You really have been all about the gingerbread lately! Tis the season I guess! Your thanksgiving doesn’t sound like it was the best one ever, but it sounds like you made the most of it. Cooking with my family always ends up being a good time. I wish we had tofu on our dinner table!

  2. Aww I’m so sorry about your grandmother – but its good that you got to see her and that she’s alive and doing alright, and that your family got to be together for a bit – and that you and your mom still managed to have some EPICALLY DELICIOUS food! I agree about the wild rice though – I really hate wild rice, no matter what form its in.

    On the other hand, pomegranates are my FAVE. totally going to have to try that oatmeal concoction cuz I’ve never had them paired with chocolate before! πŸ˜€

  3. I also love cauliflower! (However probably not as much as you do πŸ˜€ ) Oatmeal with pomegranate seeds and chocolate is my favorite these days, the flavour is amazing!
    We donΒ΄t celebrate Thanksgiving here, so I spend my Friday at school (as well as my Saturday and Sunday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

