Kitchen Adventures!

Hello friends!

Break has been AWESOME. I’ve gotten loads of needed rest, caught up on a lot of things (not school work, though.. whoops), and participated in a lot of baking therapy. I’ve also had some REALLY great runs while at home, including one today where I took a minute off of one of my splits. HOLYCRAP. It felt so good, and I felt soooo fast. And soooo tired after that.

While at home, my life looks like: run, eat, bake, sleep, repeat. I looooove it. I’ve also been able to get really creative with my oatmeal (if you haven’t been able to tell).. Today, after my supah great 4 mile run, I had this chocolate banana almond oatmeal:

Twas naked.. And looked small. So, I added banana!

Muuuch better with the banana. πŸ™‚

I cooked this oatmeal in 3/4 cup greek yogurt mixed with 1/2 cup water, then added 1 tbsp cocoa powder, 1/2 tsp almond extract, andΒ a banana on top. I also drizzled some honey on for sweetener. It was so good! Creamy, proteiny, and deeeelicious.

It was so good in fact, my cat Socrates tried to steal it. RUDE.

Excuse the kitchen mess. I get a little crazy when I'm home and cover everything with my junk.

Socrates is actually a girl cat, who I found at my college. I fell in love with her freshman year (she was wandering around campus right before a snowstorm) and my roommate and I illegally kept her in our dorm for a week. We got caught, but the local animal shelter and my mom arranged to have her brought home right before Thanksgiving break. That was two years ago!

Who could say no to this face?

She isn’t my first cat – in fact, we actually have 6 cats. This is NOT ON PURPOSE. Cats like my family. They find us. We had a respectable 3 cats. Then Socs became number four. Then number fivemoved into our basement before Christmas and then gave birth to a litter of kittens, introducing the sixth cat. Craziness. It’s okay though, because we live on a farm, so we’re allowed to have an obscene amount of pets.. Right?

Anyways, contrary to popular belief, I’m able to make more than oatmeal. Over the past three days, I’ve experimented a lot, and I have three recipes to share over the next 3 posts. Today’s will be gingerbread nutbutter, followed by gingerbread cookies and high protein pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. By then, I may have even more to share! I’d share them all at once, but that may be boring, and I’m too lazy to write them up all at one time.

Anyways, I’d been pondering the idea of Gingerbread Nutbutter, and Tara (XC Foodie) commenting that I should try it on my last post about my gingerbread madness solidified it. So, I give you..

Gingerbread Nutbutter

Makes about 1/2 cup

Mine lives in a recycled container. And is DELICIOUS. Sorry for no in use pictures.. Mine has only been eaten with a spoon so far.

1/2 cup peanuts

1/2 cup walnuts

2 tsp molasses

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

scant 1/4 tsp cloves

Process peanuts and walnuts in a food processor until butterized (5 mintutes in my food processor). Add in molasses and spices. Allow to combine until completely re-butterized. The mix may appear gritty and sugary and ball together, but keep processing because it WILL get smooth. Transfer to a container and store in the fridge.

This stuff is SO GOOD. My mom thinks it tastes kinda like chocolate.. I think it’d be good on toast, as part of a fancy nb&j, with crackers.. Or in a spoon. Which is how I’ve been devouring it. Idk how long it will last, but it should be at least a week. I think mine will be gone too fast to really test it.

Do you ever try “weird” flavours of nut butters? What’s your favourite? Have you ever made your own nut butter?

Have a nice Thanksgiving (if you live in the states)!! I’ll be back tomorrow probably. πŸ™‚

Chelsea

14 thoughts on “Kitchen Adventures!

  1. OMG! ok first, your oatmeal is nothing short of epic. now I don’t even have to expend any brainpower on my breakfast, I can just open up your blog page after my workout and pick something lol. Also…gingerbread nut butter?!? you are a GENIUS! I’ve never tried any whacky flavors, except maybe maple, or cinnamon-raisin (both great, but only in small doses – a bit toooo sweet for me and def a little artificial). I totally need to add a magic bullet or something to my christmas list so I can start making my own!

  2. Glad your break has been going well! I LOVE your cat and gingerbread nut butter is the best idea EVER!! πŸ˜€
    Have a great thanksgiving and have fun with any other kitchen adventures you have! πŸ™‚

  3. I like weird flavoured nut butters, but the one you posted doesnΒ΄t sound weird, it sounds extremely tasty! I love gingerbread, so anything with gingerbread-y flavour is a must in my book πŸ™‚
    Also your cat is called Socrates? How cool and cute! I already have 4 cats, but if I ever “adopt” another one, IΒ΄ll look for a philosophical name as well…hopefully it influences the character πŸ˜€

  4. Yay I thought I had a lot of cats for having three – I don’t feel so bad now πŸ˜‰ Though we live in a 2-bed condo and not a farm haha. But I have had cats my whole life and have to rescue them. After getting these three though I soon found out I was highly allergic to cats (I have developed this over time I guess) and so now there are air purifiers all over our condo and they don’t come in my bedroom (I miss my kitties sleeping on my bed!). But I still get to keep them and that’s the important thing :). Socrates is just BEAUTiful.

    Your breakfast looks yum too!

  5. I love make fun nut butter flavors! One time I just poured a can of mixed nuts into the food processor and it actually ended up tasting like shortbread or sugar cookies. I also really like spiced pecan butter. I have yet to try gingerbread butter, but I think it needs to happen soon because I love that flavor.

  6. nut butter looks amazing! nut butter is a total weakness I could and actually have eaten the whole jar before. especially naturally nutty brands! danger! I had a cat that would stick his tongue out. lol. I’ve always had cats as well. They just always find me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

