Gingerbread Madness!

Hey guys!

Just a quick little post.. About the GINGERBREAD MADNESS that is taking me over. Sounds scary, right? Nope. It’s delicious.

It all started this morning with a little bowl of oatmeal..

Gingerbread Oatmeal. Aka ultimate holiday goodness in a bowl.

What’s that? GINGERBREAD OATMEAL. Um, delicious. Which then lead to gingerbread cookies (to be revealed tomorrow, because only test cookies have been consumed and I have to bake the rest of the dough), gingerbread lattes, and maybe even gingerbread muffins. I’m seriously going crazy over it.

Fun fact: Until this morning, I didn’t really know what gingerbread exactly was.. Or, how to make it so gingerbready. I just knew it was delicious. So, when I went to my mom this morning wanting to make gingerbread oatmeal, I was surprised that it was a blend of spices (cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger), NOT just ginger, and MOLASSES that made the meal.

With this knowledge, I created this..

Gingerbread Oatmeal

1/4 tsp cloves, nutmeg, and ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1 serving stevia or other sweetener

1-2 tsp molasses

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup cottage cheese

1/2 cup milk (I used nondairy almond milk)

1/2 + 1/8 cup oatmeal

Cook the oatmeal on the stove in almond milk and water. Once all liquid is pretty much absorbed, add cottage cheese. Let simmer for 3-5 min until cottage cheese is melty. Take off heat, and add in stevia + spices. Top with molasses and enjoy! I mixed the molasses in after a few bites, as seen below..

I want these again.. Soon.

This was a great concoction! Other than creating this, I didn’t do much today. I love being home! I made ginger molasses (gingerbread cookie-ish) dough, got in a 4 mile run, and went shopping. Shopping was wildly successful, and I came home with a new food processor so I can get back to making more NUT BUTTER. I love making my own nut butter, but at college it’s hard to find time, and at home my food processor doesn’t work well enough. So.. Solution! πŸ™‚ I also came home with SQUIRREL SOCKS. I actually really dislike squirrels sometimes, but finding socks with this pattern was just too hard to pass up. (Ps, sorry for the bad picture.. It’s awkward to take pictures of socks.)

Squirrels. Hearts. Socks. Golden.

Anyways, I don’t have much else to share. I’ll be back tomorrowish with my baking conquests thus far!

How was your Monday? What’s your favourite holiday flavour or dessert?

See you guys!

Chelsea

4 thoughts on “Gingerbread Madness!

  1. I love gingerbread anything!! You should make gingerbread nut butter – I’ve seen that before and I’ve always wanted to try it!! I think my favorite holiday flavor is either gingerbread or pumpkin spice. They’re both so delicious!

  2. omg. yum. this is the greatest oatmeal concoction I have ever seen!! It’s definitely the season for gingerbread – I love the latte flavor, I love the bread…I hate the cookies but that’s cuz I hate dry things….I gotta try this oatmeal fo realz. I don’t have a food processor that’s good enough for making nut butters, so I’m super excited to see what concoctions you come up with!! love the socks too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

